Denton Town Council Elections Update

The Denton Town Elections were held on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016. Voting began promptly at 7:00 AM and was held until 8:00 PM. This year residents were able to vote for one position on the Town Council.

220 Resident's came to the Town Office to cast votes

And the results are:

Candidates:

- Mr. Walter Keith Johnson

 received 117 votes and was elected to serve a 5 year term**
- > Mr. Steve Mead received 54 votes

Write ins:

- 36 write in votes for Joseph Michael Beales
- 10 write in votes for Yolanda Holloway
- 1 write in vote for Aaron Hutt
- 1 write in vote for Chris Fahey
- > 1 ballot unmarked

**Mr. Walter Keith Johnson was elected into office and will be sworn in and begin serving his 5-year term at the first Council meeting in January 2017. In January, the Council will also appoint one of its member to serve as the Mayor for 2017.

A special thank you to the Board of Election Supervisors (Election Judges) for doing a tremendous job overseeing this year's election activity.

Next years Election is scheduled for Nov. 7, 2017. Advertising for Candidate's and voter requirements for the next election will begin in Sept. 2017.